Don't have an account? Click Here
Ceremonies Planned for Final Pac-10 Slate at Mac Court
Release Date: 12/18/2009
Print RSS
Related Links
EUGENE, Ore. -- The University of Oregon Athletic Department has announced it will celebrate the final Pac-10 Conference men’s basketball season at McArthur Court with commemorative ticket giveaways, a pair of jersey retirement ceremonies and honorary captains for the final nine games at the 83-year-old facility.

"The noise, atmosphere, and energy at Mac Court will be difficult to duplicate", UO Athletic Director Mike Bellotti said of the historic venue. "We would like to take the opportunity to celebrate the history that has been created over the past 83 years in this building."

Each Pac-10 game this season will have a pre-game ceremony featuring at least one honorary captain. In addition, the first 3,500 fans through the turnstiles will receive a 3x7 commemorative ticket highlighting the accomplishments of the honorary captain(s) for that contest.

OREGON STATE – Jan. 10, 2010
The festivities begin with the Oregon-Oregon State game on Sunday, Jan. 10, when former UO great Terrell Brandon will have his jersey retired. Brandon, the 1991 Pac-10 Conference Player of the Year, holds the UO school record for single-season scoring average (26.6 ppg during the 1990-91 season).

It was Brandon who was famously quoted as saying, "I've played in a lot of college arenas and all the NBA arenas and there is nothing like The Pit. You’ll never find a place to play like Mac Court anywhere. The fans are behind the team 100 percent."

ARIZONA STATE – Jan. 14, 2010
Former Oregon great Charlie Warren will be reconized at the Thursday, Jan. 14 contest against Arizona State. Warren, an all-conference and all-american selection for UO, will be joined by former ASU head coach Bill Frieder as the honorary captains for the game.

ARIZONA – Jan. 16, 2010
The "Admiral" John Dick and former Arizona head coach and Basketball Hall-of-Famer Lute Olson will be recognized as the honorary captains for the Oregon-Arizona game scheduled for Saturday, Jan. 16. Dick was a starter on Oregon’s 1939 National Championship team, and is one of six former players who have already had their jersey retired.

UCLA – Jan. 28, 2010
Oregon's Larry Holliday and UCLA's Bill Walton are the honorary captains for the Ducks-Bruins match-up on Thursday, Jan. 28. Holiday, a Duck from 1969-71, played a key role in UO's upset of then No. 1 UCLA on February 21, 1970, one of the most memorable games in the history of McArthur Court. Walton, who was inducted into the Basketball Hall of Fame in 1993, earned three consecutive Naismith College Player of the Year awards and was also part of UCLA's NCAA record 88-game winning streak.

USC – Jan. 30, 2010
Saturday, Jan. 30 will be a day that belongs to Greg Ballard, as the Oregon-USC honorary captain will have his jersey retired in a ceremony prior to tip-off. Ballard, who played at UO from 1974-77, is a key member of the Kamikaze Kids who was an all-american selection in his senior season. He ranks fourth all-time in school history in scoring (1,829 points) and is the only UO player to have amassed over 1,000 rebounds (1,114 rebounds, 9.7 rpg).

STANFORD – Feb. 18, 2010
Ron Lee, a four-time all-conference and a three-time all-american selection, will be recognized prior to the Oregon-Stanford contest on Thursday, Feb. 18. Lee, a famed member of the Kamikaze Kids from 1973-76, led the Ducks to 71 wins over his four-year career en route to becoming UO's all-time leading scorer (2,085 points, 18.6 ppg). Lee is one of the six former UO players who already have a retired jersey.

CALIFORNIA – Feb. 20, 2010
College teammates Chuck Rask (1958-60) and Glenn Moore (1960-63) will be Oregon's honorary captains, and they will be recognized along-side California’s Darrall Imhoff prior to the Ducks-Golden Bears contest on Saturday, Feb. 20. Rask was an all-american and all-conference selection in 1960, while Moore amassed 1,033 points in 77 career games for the Ducks. Imhoff was a two-time all-american and led California to the 1959 NCAA title.

WASHINGTON – March 4, 2010
Dick Harter, who led Oregon's Kamikaze Kids as head coach from 1971-78, will be recognized as the honorary captain for the Oregon-Washington game on Thursday, March 4. Harter totaled 112 career victories over his seven-year span as mentor at UO. He was named conference coach of the year in 1977, one of two Oregon coaches to receive that recognition (joining current head coach Ernie Kent who received the award in 2002).

WASHINGTON STATE – March 6, 2010
All-conference guard Kenya Wilkins, the school's all-time leader in career assists and steals, will be recognized as an honorary captain for the Oregon-Washington State game on Saturday, March 6. He will be joined by former Washington State coach George Raveling who tallied 328 career coaching victories in 21 seasons (167 of which came in his 11 seasons as head coach at WSU).

Season-tickets, mini-plans and single-game tickets are still available and can be purchased online by clicking here. In-person sales are available at the Casanova Center Ticket Office and via phone at 541-346-4461 (toll free: 1-800-WEB-FOOT).

Reserved tickets are expected to be available. Obstructed view tickets will not be available until the reserved tickets sell out for that game. Tickets Prices: Conference, $36; Conference Premium, $40.

Ducks On Pac-12 Networks