Don't have an account? Click Here
Oregon Hall of Fame Coaching Staff
Donald Van Rossen
Hall of Fame Inductee
Coach Info:
Position: Hall of Fame Inductee
Other Position: 2011 Inductee, Men's Swimming (1958-78)
Oregon’s head men’s swimming coach from 1958-78, Donald Van Rossen mentored 24 All-Americans and three Olympians during his 20-year tenure. He coached Oregon to a runner-up finish at the 1965 Pac-8 Championships and guided the Ducks to a pair of top-10 finishes at the NCAA meet. He also coached Oregon’s only NCAA swimming champion, Mike Dirksen, who won the national title in the 200-yard breaststroke in 1969. Five members of that team earned All-America honors, including Dirksen, Jerry Newman, Mike Beauchamp, Bob Jensen and diver Dennis Hartman. Van Rossen’s charges won more than 100 dual meets and some 50 earned all-conference honors. He also contributed to his sport by serving on the NCAA Swimming and Diving Rules Committee and as the NCAA Swimming Meet Rules Compliance Coordinator, as well as taking on the role as aquatic venues liaison for the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games. Van Rossen was also a tenured professor at the University until his retirement in 1987.