Don't have an account? Click Here
Oregon Hall of Fame Coaching Staff
Elwin Heiny
Hall of Fame Inductee
Coach Info:
Position: Hall of Fame Inductee
The first full-time coach of the University’s women’s basketball program, Elwin Heiny guided Oregon to 310 wins, the most of any coach in program history, during his 17 seasons at the helm. His tenure included 13 winning seasons, eight 20-win seasons, seven post-season appearances, three trips to the NCAA tournament, two appearances in the AIAW national tournament, two Northwest Women’s Basketball League championships, two Northern Pacific Athletic Conference championships and one National Women’s Invitational Tournament title. The school’s first coach to guide the women to 25 wins in a single season (25-7, 1980-81), he led Oregon over the 20-win plateau in 1978-79 (23-2) when the Ducks captured their first 21 games, and then again in 1979-80 (24-5) and 1981-82 (21-5). The Ducks participated in the AIAW national tournament in 1980 – beating Kentucky – and 1981, before making their first NCAA appearance in 1982. Oregon also made NCAA appearances in 1983-84 (23-7) and 1986-87 (23-7), the second of which saw Oregon claim its first-ever NCAA Tournament win, 75-66 over Eastern Washington. In 1988-89, Heiny led the Ducks to a 22-10 mark and the school’s first NWIT championship. A three-time NWBL Coach of the Year, Heiny instructed two-time Kodak All-American Bev Smith, as well as the program’s first Pac-10 Player of the Year, Lauri Landerholm, who captured that honor in 1987. He also mentored all-league players like Stefanie Kasperski, Gabi Neumann, Debbie Adams, Suzanne Washington, Julie Cushing and Alison Lang, the Ducks’ all-time leader in scoring.