Don't have an account? Click Here
Oregon Hall of Fame Coaching Staff
1983 Women’s Cross Country Team
Hall of Fame Inductee
Coach Info:
Position: Hall of Fame Inductee
Other Position: 2006 Inductee, Cross Country (1983)
Armed with four of their seven runners returning to the women’s NCAA championships from previous years, the Oregon women claimed their first national collegiate title by outdistancing Stanford by a slim three-point margin. The Ducks tuned up for the battle by winning the Region VIII meet for the seventh time in eight tries by a 33-71 margin over the second-place Cardinal. Yet the national championship appearance would turn out to be a lot closer, with Oregon’s fifth scorer proving to be the difference. Seldom would the program boast of such strength in numbers as junior Kathy Hayes (3rd), senior Lisa Martin (17th) and sophomore Kim Roth (27th) all claimed All-America honors in the 1983 championships, while junior Claudette Groenendaal (63rd) would win a pair of individual national track titles before concluding her collegiate career. Rounding out the championship contingent were freshmen Kim Ryan (41) and Birgit Petersen (72), while sophomore Gretchen Nelson (52nd) proved to be the team’s difference in first and second place. For his efforts, head coach Tom Heinonen would be selected by his colleagues as NCAA women’s national coach of the year.