Don't have an account? Click Here
Oregon Hall of Fame Coaching Staff
1994 Football Team
Hall of Fame Inductee
Coach Info:
Position: Hall of Fame Inductee
Other Position: 2005 Inductee, Football

It was a determined Oregon football that bounced off the mat from a 1-2 start to win eight of its next nine regular season games en route to its first conference championship in 37 years. Buoyed by their first win over USC in the Memorial Coliseum since 1971, as well as back-to-back wins over top-10 ranked Washington (9) and Arizona (8), the Ducks battled No. 2 Penn State even for most of three quarters before falling short of the unbeaten Nittany Lions in the Rose Bowl.  Quarterback Danny O’Neil contributed to no fewer than 13 Rose Bowl records to share the game’s player-of-the-game honors as the Ducks became only the second team in the bowl’s history to accumulate more than 500 yards of total offense. The Pac-10 champions also claimed or shared no fewer than 16 school records, including most wins (9-4). Five players claimed first-team all-conference honors -- O’Neil, Chad Cota, Alex Molden, Herman O’Berry and Ricky Whittle -- while Cota (SS) and O’Berry (CB) earned first-team All-America acclaim. In addition, 18th-year head coach Rich Brooks earned Pac-10 Coach-of-the-Year accolades and was acclaimed National Coach of the Year by the Football Writers Association of America. Yet few plays would be more associated with the team’s success than Kenny Wheaton’s 97-yard interception return for a touchdown that would seal it’s 31-20 win over the Huskies.